IEEE Computational Intelligence Society Neural Networks Pioneers Award Winners







Stephen Grossberg For dynamic models of learning and memory.

Teuvo Kohonen For the development of fundamental theories of distributed associative memory, optimal associative mappings, and the self-organizing feature map (SOM).

1991 Bernie Widrow For the development of adaptive filters, the ADALINE neuron, and (with M.E. Hoff Jr.) the invention of the LMS algorithm.









2000 Leon Chua

2001 James McClelland For his work with David Rumelhart developing the Parallel Distributed Processing approach to modeling human cognitive processes, based on interactive activation, distributed pack-propagation learning.









Christoph von der

Malsburg

waiter Freeman For 50 years of experimental correlation of the electrical activity of the brain with intentional behavior in animals and humans and the development of heuristic models of mesoscopic nonlinear brain dynamics and field theory to explain the mechanisms and activity patterns that are sustained by immense populations of neurons.

1992 Shun-Ichi Amari For pioneering contributions to the mathematical foundations of neural networks.







David E. Rumelhart For his work with James McClelland developing the Parallel Distributed Processing approach to modeling human cognitive processes, based on interactive activation, distributed representation, and back-propagation learning.



2002 Terrence J. Sejnowski





Kunihiko Fukushima

2003









1995 Paul J. Werbos For the original discovery of backpropagation (the use of the chain rule for ordered derivatives in neural network systems) and of adaptive critic architectures based on the approximation of dynamic programming (adaptive dynamic programming).

Michael A. Arbib He has been a most influential researcher in the field of neural networks from the sixties until now. He has contributed to the neural networks community 1) by his original researches closely connected with biology, 2) by his establishing the concept of brain theory and its methodology, and 3) by his leadership in the brain theory community which prepared the rise of neural networks research in the eighties.



2004 Andrew Barto For fundamental work on reinforcement learning.



2005

Carver Mead





2006 Erkki Oja For significant contributions in developing neural Principal Component Analysis (PCA) and subspace methods. 2006 Donald Specht For the invention of Probabilistic Neural Networks (PNN's) and General Regression Neural Networks (GRNN).



neural networks











Michael Jordan For significant contributions to algorithms, architectures, and theory for learning in neural networks.

2007

